Fear vs. Fear

by Josh

As a child, I used to be very strongly influenced by my fears.
I would always run home as fast as I could from my best friends house at night, couldnt sleep in a bed by myself until I was about 13 and always closely watched the surface of the water in the toilet, so nothing could jump out and eat me (X-Files – The Host, not so cool when you are seven years old).
That is a long time ago. Luckily, I grew out of most of them, or learnt to ignore them.
I even got to love my fear in a way over the last two/three years.
Fear can be incredibly useful when it is used like a tool. It can be a compass, pointing you in the direction of your  most effective force multipliers or that which might give you the most happiness (or both, like talking to that stunning girl by the buffet).
No guts, no glory.
I like that saying, because it is very simple and beautifully summarizes two principles that I really like. One is that you should listen to your gut feeling when you make important decisions (flip a coin, see how you like the result). The other is, that if you don’t push through your fear (or gently stretch your comfort zone) ,you dont get anywhere in life. Also, doing scary stuff gives amazing rushes of endorphine, there’s nothing like it.
BUT
I recently noticed, that I had confused acting towards and with my fear, with acting out of fear. I met a really nice girl last week. Now she does not exactly live around the corner. I miss her. So, I sent her lots of messages on facebook. Now some people might consider this romantic or cute, but if I really analyze the feeling, I did not write her because I wanted to ( facebook is probably the shittiest way of communicating with someone on an emotional level), but because I am simply scared of losing touch with her.

So.Long story short. I’ll cut the facebook crap and get back to real life. But facebook is definitely not the way to go. We’ll see how it develops, but acting out of fear is plain destructive in my opinion.

My man Yoda said it best:

Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger.
Anger leads to hate.
Hate leads to suffering.

Make friends with your fear, but don’t let it take control.

Image

