30 Days on Plants

by Josh

Whosgonnaeatallthat?
I love trying out new things, pushing myself, getting out of my usual ways.
So, I figured, going vegan could be nice to try out.
Loads of people are doing this 30-day-challenge in Germany, made popular by the hugely inspiring Attilla Hildmann (check out his before/after pictures!!!).

Since 1st. of March, until the end of the month, will completely omit any animal product from my diet and also stay away from processed sugars and white flour.
To make things easier I team up with my housemate Olivier (the man, the mustache).
After the 30 days I’ll decide if I keep going or if I go back.
We’ll see.

Why do I do this?

Personal reasons:

First of all, I love (quality) meat and I love cheese and yoghurt.
Not eating meat and dairy products is a real challenge for me and I like challenges, stretching my comfort zone. And I like giving up things.
My diet was mainly vegetarian before, but going vegan is a whole different story.
It takes much more creativity to prepare foods where I don’t feel like I miss out on anything.
Apparently, people get all sorts of health benefits from it. I’m up for experimenting with that.
And guys, seriously. As a vegan you don’t die.
I will not be taking any food supplements whatsoever (pills/powders, etc.)

The Big Picture.

Basically: “Don’t whistle while you eat”
I’ve only been in this for four days and already I am paying so much more attention to what, how much and when I eat.
I also chew more slowly.
Paying attention means, not to ignore an uncomfortable truth.
Paramount for this is my own reaction to the title of Jonathan  Foers book  “eating animals”.
It made me cringe inside. When we hear this title we know what it is about.
Most animals that “work for us” or that we eat have a really shitty (literally), disgusting life.
If we dare to look, we have to change something.
There’s people who don’t have enough food and water, just because we like the taste of meat.
They’re cutting down the fucking rainforest, not because of the wood, but to create space to grow soy  for livestock (=animal) production.

Cutting down on meat consumption is  the way to go.
Period.

So far.
Five days into the challenge and I don’t really miss anything.
Before I started I had quite big digestion problems (like majorly, ask my male friends), which have gone away pretty much.
I’ve already tried out 4 or 5 new recipes (and counting) something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time.
I never eat alone (I really like solitude, however, when it comes to eating I definitely prefer company) .
My after-meal-dips are a lot smaller and I can get going quicker.
Going to the market or supermarket is incredibly quick. 
There is almost nothing I could buy. I love this.
The vegan meals are surprisingly delicious so far. I had expected a lot more taste austerity.

About 2,000 pounds of grains must be supplied to livestock in order  to produce enough meat and other livestock products to support a person for  a year, whereas 400 pounds of grain eaten directly will support a person for  a year. Thus, a given quantity of grain eaten directly will feed 5 times as  many people as it will if it is eaten indirectly by humans in the form of livestock  products.… —M.E. Ensminger, PhD

Special thanks to Kamil, Felix and Olivier.

