a little story about the magic of minimalism

by Josh

this is where my couch used to be
– sold it last week

About two months ago, I found a beautiful old bikeframe. Race-bike-like.
My plan was to build a nice minimalist racebike.
All I had to do was to get the treadle fixed, paint it and get some wheels.
When I finally (after two months) managed to get it to the bike-guy down the road,
he admired the frame, but told me that it would be rather costly to fix the treadle.
I decided to abandon the project, not wanting to invest a lot of money.
The frame took up too much space in my room, so I asked him if he would like to keep the frame.
He seemed pleased and told me that he had seen a nice racebike at the opshop next door.

My interest was low, but I went to check it out.
Long story short:
I now own a beautiful racebike, handmade in the Netherlands.
For much less than even the price of repairing the treadle.
So, the old frame did become a very nice racebike after all, just not in the way I had expected.
I will make it shine and ride it.
And eventually I will sell it too if don’t use it anymore.
It’s just luck, my scientific mind tells me, coincidence.
But maybe it is the magic of letting go.

Get rid of the stuff you don’t use or need, and watch the magic happen.
If you question the things you own, most likely you will end up with less.
I did some maths for you:
Less random stuff = more space for that which you really want (and this is not only restricted to physical objects).

