sticking feathers up your ass doesn’t make you a chicken

by Josh

courtesy of felinsky.tumblr.com

The unboxing experience was amazing. When the smooth white carton slid off soundless and slow, against the friction of air, I felt almost as if I was pulling the panty of a woman.
Now I feel almost as sobered as if I had noticed afterwards that the feelings I thought I had are all but my groin screaming too loudly for attention.

Why is there even a word like “unboxing experience” and why the heck do I know it?
The sun is shining and I should be practising handstands in a park, surrounded by a circle of admiring hotties. But now I spend even more time inside. Inside four walls.
Inside dull light of a display.
Tyler Durden got it right:
“Sticking feathers up your ass doesn’t make you a chicken.”
You are not your Ipad.
Neither will you become anything that you might have unconsciously connected to owning one.
You will not become a better student.
Neither will you have amazing insights or will your life change suddenly to the better.
How often has the purchase of a worldly item made you happy longer than say, 2 days at best.
There are things that make me happy every time I use them though.
Like my leatherman tool, or a good sharp kitchen knife.
But it is using these things that makes us happy, not owning them.
It is interaction that makes us happy.
Jealousy and a craving for exclusivity can destroy so much.
That’s why Sting sings “If you love someone – set them free”
Being posessive has never fulfilled anyone.
If it has a purpose and is useful – fine.
But owning things (or people) just for the sake of it will not get you anywhere.
Sticking feathers up your ass doesn’t make you a chicken.

Wearing the latest fashion will not make more people like you more.
Wearing a shitton of the latest make up will not make you look hotter.
Drinking silly Sport drinks will not make you fitter.
Wearing ridiculous business clothing and leather shoes will not make you a more respected member of society.
Become aware of all the bullshit that marketing makes you believe about why you need to own all the shit that you are buying.
Think twice.
Maybe you just want to buy yourself out of having to be responsible for the person you’ve become.

