Gently, Merrily

by Josh

turmoil – felinsky.tumblr.com

I just caught an early morning train heading towards Hanau, to attend a Landmark workshop and it is too warm.
Ten degrees Celsius is just obscene for a 10th of January.
When I rolled out of bed at 5am this morning, the world felt like a hostile place with nothing but chores and suffering.
Then I remembered what I had read the night before in a book by Bernie Glassmann and Jeff Bridges (aka The Dude) – to row row row your boat, gently down the stream (merrily merrily merrily merrily life is but a dream) .
Very good advice that is!
The boat is going down the stream anyway, so there is no need for tense effort.
Just relax and enjoy the ride. Don’t overthink how you should be rowing, or whether you should row more with your left or your right arm. Just row and be merry.
And sing a little song while you’re at it.
Yes, very good advice that is, and immediately applicable.  The next advice was to do three things every morning. To piss, then brush your teeth, and then to smile at yourself in the mirror.
Pretty good advice too. Have you ever tried to smile at yourself in the mirror? I find it surprisingly difficult to flash a smile at myself that is not masquerade.
Like a real smile you know. Trying feels awkward.
It felt lik I suddenly had to figure out how to smile all over again.
So I was awkwardly trying to give myself a natural smile in the mirror – but merrily!

And that is the crux. There is no problem in making a fool of yourself. The problem is if you get all tense and negative about it. If you don’t know how to row your boat, just keep practicing and be merry.
Being tense never helps. Gently, merrily. Maybe you can even keep your boat empty?

So I am on this early morning train.
A little merrier than when I fell out of bed. The surprisingly good looking conductor just checked my ticket and a delightful woft of her sweet scent lingered for a few seconds after she left.
The train is about to arrive and I seem to have forgotten a smart point I wanted to make.
Write write write your post, gently on the screen,
merrily merrily merrily merrily,
life is but a dream.

