Do it for the fun. It’s not always fun? Do it anyway!?

by Josh

Blues

Blues

Way too much of my writing is done in a state of must. But is that a bad thing?
Like right now, I do it because I need to get it done and I am already sure that I will not surpass the 300 words I vowed to do daily. It is almost like I don’t even enjoy writing. As if someone expects me to do it.
I get the urge to defend myself here, to say:”Wait a minute, I actually enjoy all of this.”. The writing, the publishing, the interactions.
My friend Paul has been an inspiration to me these last few days. He does many things out of sheer curiosity. He appears to have little fear of adverse outcomes and does not shy from effort nor contact with people.
Like this morning, he approached several strange people at the Airport where we dropped off another friend for his trip to NZ. He talked to police officers, security people and a guy driving an electric car for physically impaired people (“can I drive it? No? Can I get a ride then?”).
Anyway, I really enjoy watching him be like that and being so engaged with the world around him, with, apparently little concern for looking good.
Or yesterday, he spent about three hours researching and figuring out how to set up a VPN network over his phone.
Just because, and because it was fun for him.
Cool. This is really cool. And I want my writing to emerge from a similar place and to breathe a similar spirit.
Writing, not because I have to, or because I want to look good, but because I enjoy playing with words and writing stuff that is useful for others.
Having said that, I look at my word count, which is still fourty-odd words off my daily target of 300.
But that’s OK, because my daily routine supports me to do what I like, whether I feel like doing it or not.
So there is no need to be cynical about that either. Sometimes I feel like writing and sometimes I don’t. But I write. Every day. And that’s a good thing.

